orthopaster.blogg.se

Netgear wg311 driver not working
Netgear wg311 driver not working










netgear wg311 driver not working
  1. Netgear wg311 driver not working install#
  2. Netgear wg311 driver not working drivers#
  3. Netgear wg311 driver not working update#
  4. Netgear wg311 driver not working pro#
  5. Netgear wg311 driver not working software#

I uninstalled the Netgear software (I even went as far to remove every instance of "netgear" from the registry).

Netgear wg311 driver not working drivers#

So I went digging on the internet and found this forum with an excellent suggestion of using USR's drivers for the same card. I tried uninstalling and re-installing within Safe Mode to no avail. installing the software before installing the hardware) however, upon booting up after installing the hardware I immediately get BSOD. So I followed the instructions included with the device (i.e.

Netgear wg311 driver not working pro#

Naturally I'm running WinXP Pro SP2 and have the Netgear WG311v2. Well, it seems I'm having a bit more trouble than any others. What sort of company tells you to fight viruses by getting rid of the of the latest antibiotics and going back to leeches.

Netgear wg311 driver not working install#

Then reinsert the card and everything should be just dandy or so you think.Ĭos you ain't finished yet I've like I said done quite a few of these now and the only way I can get them to work securely they will run no probs without any encryption is using the 128 bit encryption.Īs for Netgear's support team they can go stuff themselves they just lost 50,000 worth of business next year cause my budget for a new install at a new office location will be spent on a wi-fi system that supports XPSP2 and made by a company who is prepared to support there hardware. So yes you do have to use the XP SP2 to configure your wireless connection this means you will have to uninstall the netgear software along with the drivers, remove the card and then re-install the drivers (NOTE only the Drivers not the Netgear Utility). There is a conflict between the NETGEAR utility and the XP SP2 one so even if you do manage to get a connection it will loose strenght and will probably crash at some point down the line. Any how happy to say done everything used every angle and the story so far is.

netgear wg311 driver not working

Anyways, if any Netgear people are reading this forum, the Shuttle system is practically a pre-built system (only CPU, RAM, HDD and CD-RW added - using onboard video, ethernet, sound) so hopefully this problem should be reproducible and fixable.īeen doing this one for the past 2 weeks almost none stop, I had to repair the office network after installing a netgear based network. I'm surprised this card was able to get a PC World "Best Buy" award with the number of problems people have been having with it. I'm concerned about upgrades - if Netgear pushes out a new driver version with this same problem, I'll have to repeat this whole process. I then set up the router easily and the wireless card works fine now, using the built-in Windows configuration. This managed to install the drivers *without* the utility software: netwg311.sys v5.0.20, date. When the add new hardware dialog came up, I told it I would select the driver to use, then clicked "Have Disk" and browsed to the Drivers\Win XP directory on the Netgear CD. I booted up with the card disabled, removed the Netgear software with Add/Remove Programs, removed the card from Device Manager, and then rebooted. And, Netgear, by the way, Hotfix Q815485 is rolled into SP2, so there's no way to remove it.įollowing an idea from this thread (which seems to document a similar but not identical problem), it seemed that the Netgear utility, and not the drivers, was causing the problem. System exhibited the same restarting beahvior. Decided to try the "version 1.0.1.7" Netgear drivers from here because I noticed that according to a Netgear knowledgebase article, Internet Connection Fails in Windows XP After Installing Microsoft's Hotfix Q815485.

netgear wg311 driver not working

I was able to get the system to boot without crashing by booting into safe mode, going to device manager, and disabling the Netgear card. One thing of note, after the dialog came up, the Windows Wireless Network Connection Icon appeared in the taskbar, and the card appeared to be working, but if I clicked on Yes or No, the system would reboot. Clicked "Yes", and same thing - another reboot. No notification, no program shutdown, just a restart. Clicked "Yes", HDD whirred for a bit, waited a bit, then -click- the system restarted. Windows found new hardware wizard, installed the drivers, and got to a prompt (I didn't write down the exact wording) prompting for Windows' internal wireless configuration tool to be disabled in order to fully configure the card with the Netgear utility.

Netgear wg311 driver not working update#

(All critical/hardware patches from Windows Update as of 8/28/04 installed)Īs per directions, I installed the driver software for the WG311 before installing the card. System is a Shuttle SN41G2B, running with an Athlon XP 2500+ and 512MB RAM under Windows XP Professional SP2.

netgear wg311 driver not working

I just purchased a brand-new WG311 v2 802.11g/b PCI card and WGR614 router for my girlfriend.












Netgear wg311 driver not working